

Европейски парламент Parlamento Europeo Evropský parlament Europa-Parlamentet Europäisches Parlament Europa Parlament Ευρωπαϊκό Κοινοβούλιο European Parliament Parlement européen Parlamint na hEorpa Europski parlament Parlamento europeo Eiropas Parlaments Europos Parlamentas Európai Parlament Parlament Ewropew Europeas Parlement Parlament Europejski Parlamento Europeu Parlamentul European Európsky parlament Evropski parlament Europan parlamentti Europaparlamentet

To

GARDIAZABAL RUBIAL Eider MUREŞAN Siegfried PÎSLARU Dragoş

BOESELAGER Damian
FERNANDES José Manuel
GARICANO Luis
GUSMÃO José
MAVRIDES Costas
PAPADIMOULIS Dimitrios
URTASUN Ernest
VAN OVERTVELDT Johan
ZĪLE Roberts

Brussels, 11 November 2020

Dear colleagues,

On Monday, the ECON and BUDG committees voted on the Recovery and Resilience Facility (RRF) as negotiated by you.

We, the undersigned, would like to express our deep concern about the handling of amendment 864, demanding at least 2% of each national RRF plan to be dedicated to the Cultural and Creative Sectors and Industries (CCSI). This amendment had been supported by Members from six political groups. Additionally, more than 100 cultural and creative organisations and networks with several million individual members – citizens! – had reached out to you, urging you to support the amendment.

In the negotiations at committee level, this amendment was substantially watered down, only *encouraging* Member States to dedicate at least 2% to the CCSI. Furthermore, this paragraph has been moved into a recital, further reducing the importance and impact of the overall amendment. Consequently, this recommendation is de facto worthless because there are no obligations for Member States to implement it.

Unfortunately, it goes against the Parliament's Resolution on the Cultural Recovery of Europe from 17 September, supported by 598 MEPs including all of you, where the EP "calls on the Commission and the Member States to <u>earmark</u> for the cultural and creative sectors and

industries, according to their specific needs, at least 2 % of the Recovery and Resilience Facility dedicated to the recovery".

We are extremely disappointed that you as Rapporteurs and Shadow Rapporteurs did not follow the Parliament's own will as expressed very clearly in its recent Resolution.

We would like to remind you that the Cultural and Creative Sectors and Industries are among those hit the hardest by the Covid-19 crisis, putting their whole ecosystem at stake, leaving cultural workers and creatives without any income and causing the closure of cultural venues and creative enterprises. The demand for 2% does not even reflect the actual importance of the CCSI and their contribution to the EU's economy. In fact, the Cultural and Creative Sectors and Industries account for 7.8 million jobs and 4 % of our GDP.

Nevertheless, in Thursday's plenary vote, we will support your request for a mandate to enter into inter-institutional negotiation. However, we call on you to reconsider your internal BUDG and ECON compromise and to follow the official EP position as become manifest in the Resolution which was supported by 598 Members of the European Parliament. This vast majority should not be disregarded.

Yours sincerely,

Tomasz Frankowski (EPP)
Petra Kammerevert (S&D), CULT coordinator S&D group
Niklas Nienaß (Greens/EFA)
Massimiliano Smeriglio (S&D)
Sabine Verheyen (EPP), Chair of the CULT committee

Romeo Franz (Greens/EFA), Vice-Chair of the CULT committee

Dace Melbārde (ECR), Vice-Chair of the CULT committee / CULT coordinator ECR group

Michaela Šojdrová (EPP), CULT coordinator EPP group

Laurence Farreng (Renew Europe), CULT coordinator Renew Europe group

Salima Yenbou (Greens/EFA), CULT coordinator Greens/EFA group

Alexis Georgoulis (GUE/NGL), CULT coordinator GUE/NGL group

Vlad-Marius Botos (Renew Europe)

Ilana Cicurel (Renew Europe)

Sunčana Glavak (EPP)

Hannes Heide (S&D)

Irena Joveva (Renew Europe)

Łukasz Kohut (S&D)

Pina Picierno (S&D)

Manuel Pizarro (S&D)

Peter Pollák (EPP)

Evelyn Regner (S&D)

Diana Riba i Giner (Greens/EFA)

Andreas Schieder (S&D)

Bettina Vollath (S&D)

Iuliu Winkler (EPP)